The members of the Spuzzum First Nation have resided in the area for thousands of years. Formerly a fur trade depot for the Hudson's Bay Company Brigade.
Prior to the construction of the Alexandra Suspension Bridge, a ferry crossed the Fraser River here. Tolls were collected for the Cariboo Wagon Road.
Today, the town boasts a few residents and continues to be a stopping point for travellers through the Fraser Canyon.
Just north of the current Alexandra Bridge is a rest area and trail to 1926 bridge. The older bridge may be seen from the deck of the newer one, which forms part of Highway #1.
The 1926 Alexandra Bridge, arches, suspension cables and deck.
Click the image for a larger view. Photograph courtesy the Gold Rush Trail Cooperative.